Asia Cup 2023 - The Ultimate Guide Thumbnail

The much-anticipated Asia Cup 2023 is all set to kick off from August 30 to September 17, showcasing a riveting clash of cricketing titans. This 16th edition of the Asia Cup promises to be a spectacle like never before, as it breaks new ground by being co-hosted by two cricket-loving nations, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Additionally, it is the very first Asia Cup to be jointly hosted by multiple nations. With six formidable teams all set to vie for supremacy, fans can brace themselves for an intense battle that promises thrilling matches and pulse-pounding moments.

Moreover, the Asia Cup will be a good opportunity for the teams to prepare for the World Cup, which will be held in India in October and November 2023. Furthermore, the tournament will be played under the new ODI Super League system, which means that the results will count towards qualification for the 2023 Cricket World Cup. The top three teams from the Asia Cup will qualify directly for the World Cup, while the fourth-placed team will go into a qualifying tournament.

History of Asia Cup

The Asia Cup is a men’s One Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) cricket tournament contested by the member nations of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC). It was established in 1983 when the ACC was founded as a measure to promote goodwill between Asian countries. The tournament was originally scheduled to be held every two years, but this has not always been the case due to political and cricketing reasons.

1984IndiaSri Lanka
1986Sri LankaPakistan
1990–91Tournament cancelled
1995Sri LankaIndia
1997Sri LankaIndia
2004Sri LankaBangladesh
2008IndiaSri Lanka
2010IndiaSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaBangladesh
2022Sri LankaPakistan

The first Asia Cup was held in 1984 in Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates where the council’s offices were based (until 1995). India boycotted the 1986 tournament due to strained cricketing relations with Sri Lanka. Pakistan boycotted the 1990–91 tournament due to strained political relations with India and the 1993 tournament was cancelled for the same reason. The ACC announced that the tournament would be held biennially from 2009 onwards. The ICC has ruled that all games played in the Asia Cup have official ODI status.

India is the most successful team in the Asia Cup, having won seven titles. Sri Lanka is the second most successful team, with six, while Pakistan has won two titles. Sri Lanka has played the most Asia Cups (15) followed by India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh who have played 14 each.

Schedule & Match Start Time – Asia Cup 2023

All the Asia Cup matches to be held in 2023 will start at 10:00 AM GMT+5:30 (3:00 PM IST). The schedule for the tournament is as follows, which is a round-robin tournament:

Group Stage

  • August 30: Pakistan vs Nepal (Multan)
  • August 31: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka (Pallekele)
  • September 2: Pakistan vs India (Pallekele)
  • September 3: Bangladesh vs Afghanistan (Gaddafi)
  • September 4: India vs Nepal (Pallekele)
  • September 5: Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka (Gaddafi)

Super 4s

  • September 6: 1st Group A vs 2nd Group B (Pallekele)
  • September 7: 1st Group B vs 2nd Group A (R. Premadasa)
  • September 9: 1st Group A vs 1st Group B (Pallekele)
  • September 10: 2nd Group A vs 2nd Group B (R. Premadasa)
  • September 12: 3rd Place Playoff (Sinhala Sports Club)


  • September 17: Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2 (Colombo)

Live Streaming Platforms for Asia Cup Matches

The Asia Cup 2023 will be broadcast live on the following channels:

  • Bangladesh: T Sports and Gazi TV
  • Afghanistan: Ariana Television Network (ATN)
  • Sri Lanka: Star Sports and Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation (SLRC)
  • Pakistan: PTV Sports and Ten Sports
  • India: Star Sports Network
  • Nepal: T Sports and Gazi TV

However, you can also watch all the matches on the following online applications/websites from anywhere in the world:

  • Daraz App
  • Tapmad App
  • Switch TV
  • CricLife MAX
  • Disney+ Hotstar

Teams & Squads – Asia Cup 2023

Group A


  • Rohit Sharma (c)
  • Virat Kohli
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • KL Rahul
  • Shubman Gill
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Tilak Varma
  • Ishan Kishan
  • Hardik Pandya (vc)
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Axar Patel
  • Shardul Thakur
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Mohammed Siraj
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Prasidh Krishna
  • Sanju Samson (wk)


  • Babar Azam (c)
  • Abdullah Shafique
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Imam-ul-Haq
  • Salman Ali Agha
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
  • Mohammad Haris
  • Shadab Khan
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Usama Mir
  • Faheem Ashraf
  • Haris Rauf
  • Mohammad Wasim Jnr
  • Naseem Shah
  • Shaheen Afridi
  • Saud Shakeel
  • Tayyab Tahir (traveling reserve)


  • Sandeep Lamichhane (c)
  • Asif Sheikh
  • Pawan Sarraf
  • Aarif Sheikh
  • Dipendra Airee
  • Dev Khanal
  • Rohit Paudel
  • Aasif Sheikh
  • Lokesh Bam
  • Karan KC
  • Sompal Kami
  • Binod Bhandari
  • Rajesh Pulami Magar
  • Prithu Baskota
  • Kushal Bhurtel
  • Sushan Bhari

Group B


  • Hashmatullah Shahidi (c)
  • Rahmanullah Gurbaz
  • Ibrahim Zadran
  • Riaz Hassan
  • Rahmat Shah
  • Najibullah Zadran
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Ikram Alikhil
  • Rashid Khan
  • Gulbadin Naib
  • Karim Janat
  • Abdul Rahman
  • Sharafuddin Ashraf
  • Mujeeb ur Rahman
  • Noor Ahmad
  • Fazalhaq Farooqi
  • Naveen-ul-Haq


  • Tamim Iqbal (c)
  • Liton Das
  • Najmul Hossain Shanto
  • Shakib Al Hasan
  • Mushfiqur Rahim (wk)
  • Mahmudullah
  • Afif Hossain
  • Mohammad Mithun
  • Taskin Ahmed
  • Shoriful Islam
  • Mehidy Hasan Miraz
  • Nasum Ahmed
  • Mohammad Saifuddin
  • Yasir Ali Chowdhury
  • Mustafizur Rahman
  • Shohidul Islam

Sri Lanka

  • Dasun Shanaka (c)
  • Pathum Nissanka
  • Kusal Mendis
  • Charith Asalanka
  • Dinesh Chandimal
  • Wanindu Hasaranga
  • Dhananjaya de Silva
  • Bhanuka Rajapaksa
  • Niroshan Dickwella (wk)
  • Chamika Karunaratne
  • Mahesh Theekshana
  • Praveen Jayawickrama
  • Lahiru Kumara
  • Binura Fernando
  • Kasun Rajitha
  • Nuwan Thushara

Venues – Asia Cup 2023

Cricket Stadiums Information
Venue City Matches Capacity Pitch Conditions
Multan International Cricket Stadium Multan, Pakistan 4 30,000 Flat and batting-friendly
Gaddafi Stadium Lahore, Pakistan 3 27,000 Slow and turning
Pallekele International Cricket Stadium Pallekele, Sri Lanka 5 35,000 Good for both batsmen and bowlers
R. Premadasa Stadium Colombo, Sri Lanka 3 35,000 Good for both batsmen and bowlers

Which team has the most Asia Cup titles?

India holds the record for the most Asia Cup titles, having won the tournament seven times.

How many titles has Sri Lanka won in the Asia Cup?

Sri Lanka is the second most successful team in the Asia Cup with six titles to their name.

How many times has Pakistan won the Asia Cup?

Pakistan has won the Asia Cup twice.

How many teams are playing in Asia Cup 2023?

Six teams including India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka will compete for eachother in the highly anticipated Asia Cup 2023 tournament.